HARC_Banner

History

The first Huntsville Amateur Radio Club (HARC) was organized on October 6, 1947, with Bill Neal, W4FZD, as the first President. The constitution was approved March 22, 1948. There were twenty-two members of this first Huntsville Amateur Radio Club; but due to a lack of interest, the club was disbanded in the spring of 1949.

The present Huntsville Amateur Radio Club was re-organized on April 18, 1952, at the WFUN Studio, 410 W. Holmes Street with John Garrison, W4FOG, elected as the first President. Our first Vice President was Marion Gibson W4LHR. The constitution and by-laws were adopted June 20, 1952. 16 members were on the first club roster. HARC participated in its first Field Day event on June 21 and 22, 1952, with 16 members participating and has continued participating each year ever since.

The club became affiliated with the American Radio Relay League on September 26, 1952, and remains so to this day. The Huntsville Novice CW net was organized in November of 1952, and met on 3.735 KHz with twelve members checking into the net. The first club call, K4DTV, was obtained in July of 1954. In April of 1956 the ladies' auxiliary was formed and named the QRM Club.

The first issue of the club bulletin was published in December of 1961, with Mary Campbell, K4VAL, Genie Weaver, W4ERX and Dick White, W4MEM volunteering to get it started. The February 1962 bulletin had the name VOX on the cover, which was given by Bill Owens, W4YXW. In December of 1965 Mary Campbell, K4VJL resigned as editor of the VOX. The next month (January 21, 1966), Frank Emens, W4HFU became editor and publisher

The club's current callsign is K4BFT, in honor of one of our members, Hammond "Ham" Carpenter. K4BFT was voted by the club members as the official club station call on April 3, 1964.

Meetings

Meetings are held every Friday at 7:30 PM at the Red Cross building located at 1101 Washington Street, Huntsville, AL 35801 unless otherwise posted. Google map here
Notices of each meeting are published monthly in the VOX. An auction is normally held on the fifth Friday of months that have five Fridays. Meetings are not held on the last two Fridays of December because of the Christmas and New Year's holidays.

A listing of upcoming programs and meeting dates can be found on the HARC Activity Calendar on this site or in the VOX .

Current Constitution & Reports

Constitution here: HARC Constitution Final signed March 18,2016

Annual Financial Reports Began with year 2015-2016

Officers

Bill Bathgate
KD8IGK
President
president@harc.net
Todd Cline
N7KDT
Vice President
vicepresident@harc.net
Craig Reinhart
KD4IYD
Secretary
clreinhart41@gmail.com
Bob Burns
K4RHB
Treasurer
treasurer@harc.net
John Boyette
KK5KKT
Officer at-large
kk5kkt@juno.com
Jack Hemby
W5WQQ
Officer at-large
JHemby@knology.net
Gary Suckow
W9GSM
Officer at-large
suckowg@yahoo.com


Program and Project Managers

Tim Holland
KK5H
Madison Co Emerg Coord
kk5@arrl.net
Mark Brown
N4BCD
Field Day Chairman
mark.n4bcd@yahoo.com
David Stephenson
KJ4OKJ
Public Affairs Officer
ddstephenson@gmail.com
Tom Duncan
KG4CUY
K4BFT Station Trustee
duncant1@ds-s.com
Peggy Bell
K4EGB
Food Coordinator
pbell@hiwaay.net
Jack Hemby
W5WQQ
Training/Education Coordinator
jhemby@knology.net
Mark Brown
N4BCD
VOX Publisher
mark.n4bcd@yahoo.com
John Boyette
KK5KKT
Programs Officer
kk5kkt@juno.com
M.D. Smith
WA4DXP
Webmaster
mdsmith@hiwaay.net
John Hilliard
K4JCH
Repeater Program Announcer
k4jch@aol.com
Kelley Johns
W4VPZ
Repeater Program Announcer
kelleyvj@mac.com